Candidate
John E. Brooks
Current through Oct 19DemocraticDEMFormer State Senator for District 8, insurance-industry executive and former Nassau County risk-management director; longtime volunteer firefighter.
Full sourced profileNassau County · 2026 general election
2 candidates are listed in the official county election roster. The incumbent, when present, appears first.
Cycle tags: 2026 cycle, Nov 5, 2025 – Oct 19, 2026 = state & local filings (NYSBOE) · federal 2025–26 = FEC, Jan 1, 2025 – latest. Each money figure belongs to the cycle on its tag.
2026 cycle, Nov 5, 2025 – Oct 19, 2026 (state & local); Congress transfers: federal 2025–26.
John E. Brooks · Before this cycle: $0 raised, $1,500 spent (Dec 23, 2024 – Sep 12, 2025, last cycle: Nov 6, 2024 – Nov 4, 2025), not counted in 2026 totals.
Candidates with no party-committee transactions in this cycle are not listed. See the Party Pipeline.
Sources: NYSBOE filings, 2026 cycle only (Nov 5, 2025 – Oct 19, 2026). Bars are scaled to the largest amount in each panel. "Not reported" means the value was not found in the data, not that it is zero.
| Photo | ![]() | ![]() |
|---|---|---|
| Name | John E. Brooks | Shannon R. Fredericks |
| Party / lines | Democratic · DEM | Republican · REP, CON |
| Incumbent | No | No |
| Office / district | Candidate for New York State Assembly · District 14 | Candidate for New York State Assembly · District 14 |
| Money raised 2026 cycle, Nov 5, 2025 – Oct 19, 2026 | $97,477 | $156,800 |
| Spent 2026 cycle, Nov 5, 2025 – Oct 19, 2026 | $10,200 See itemized expenditures ↓ | $34,719 See itemized expenditures ↓ |
| Top expenditures 2026 cycle, Nov 5, 2025 – Oct 19, 2026 |
|
|
| Cash on hand 2026 cycle, Nov 5, 2025 – Oct 19, 2026 | not reported | not reported |
| Public matching funds 2026 cycle, Nov 5, 2025 – Oct 19, 2026 | $74,580 (Nys Comptroller) | $111,298 (Nys Comptroller) |
| Top contributors 2026 cycle, Nov 5, 2025 – Oct 19, 2026 |
|
|
| How current | Current through Oct 19 | Current through Oct 19 |
| Next filing deadline | 27-Day Post-General — due Nov 30, 2026 | 27-Day Post-General — due Nov 30, 2026 |
| Full detail | Full sourced profile → | Full sourced profile → |
Money figures and contributors come from each candidate's own profile (NYSBOE or FEC filings). State and local figures cover the 2026 cycle only: Nov 5, 2025 (day after the 2025 general election) through Oct 19, 2026 (NYSBOE). "Not reported" means the value was not found in the data, not that it is zero.
Candidate
Former State Senator for District 8, insurance-industry executive and former Nassau County risk-management director; longtime volunteer firefighter.
Full sourced profileCandidate
State Senate Republican Conference staffer and regional coordinator from Seaford.
Full sourced profileCandidate names, offices and ballot lines come from the official Nassau County election roster. Candidate profiles link to underlying official, campaign and finance records. Read the full methodology.
Total itemized spending and outflows: $10,200.002026 cycle, Nov 5, 2025 – Oct 19, 2026 in 7 payments, newest first. Breakdown: transfers out $8,650.00; expenditures $1,250.00; contribution refunds $300.00.
NYSBOE itemized expenditures, transfers out and refunds for Friends Of Jon Brooks, Friends of John Brooks, Friends Of Jon Brooks, John E. Brooks, John Brooks 2026, November 5, 2025 through 2026-10-19 (2026 cycle). Totals may differ slightly from the summary figure above because of rounding or unitemized amounts.
| Date | Payee | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|---|
| 10/15/2026 | Nassau County Democratic Committee | Transfers out | $650.00 |
| 10/5/2026 | Lisa Corso | Contribution refund — Accidental Recurring Donation | $250.00 |
| 9/17/2026 | Theresa Joy | Contribution refund | $25.00 |
| 9/17/2026 | Joy Thomas | Contribution refund | $25.00 |
| 9/4/2026 | Friends of Christine Lemyre | not stated | $250.00 |
| 4/21/2026 | John Brooks 2026 | Transfers out | $8,000.00 |
| 4/13/2026 | Civic Response Consulting | not stated | $1,000.00 |
Total itemized spending and outflows: $34,718.562026 cycle, Nov 5, 2025 – Oct 19, 2026 in 24 payments, newest first. Breakdown: transfers out $25,960.00; expenditures $8,758.56.
NYSBOE itemized expenditures, transfers out and refunds for Shannon Fredericks, Friends of Shannon Fredericks, November 5, 2025 through 2026-10-19 (2026 cycle). Totals may differ slightly from the summary figure above because of rounding or unitemized amounts.
| Date | Payee | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|---|
| 10/15/2026 | Nassau County Republican Committee | Transfers out | $500.00 |
| 10/13/2026 | Nassau County Columbia Police Assoc | not stated | $190.00 |
| 10/8/2026 | Nassau County Republican Committee | Transfers out — Mailers | $25,000.00 |
| 9/28/2026 | WinRed | WinRed fees for 5 transactions | $25.63 |
| 9/21/2026 | Staples | Staples could not fulfill order - waiting for money to be reimbursed | $54.08 |
| 9/17/2026 | Nassau County Republican Committee | not stated | $200.00 |
| 8/26/2026 | Nassau County Republican Committee | not stated | $350.00 |
| 8/5/2026 | Merrick Jewish Center | not stated | $300.00 |
| 7/25/2026 | United States Postal Service | Postage | $49.20 |
| 7/20/2026 | Nassau County Republican Committee | not stated | $1,000.00 |
| 7/11/2026 | WinRed | for misc. WinRed payment fees | $396.49 |
| 6/10/2026 | Nassau County Republican Committee | Transfers out | $210.00 |
| 6/10/2026 | Nassau Coba Political Action | not stated | $250.00 |
| 6/10/2026 | Franklin Square East | Transfers out | $250.00 |
| 6/1/2026 | Nassau S.O.A. | not stated | $250.00 |
| 5/8/2026 | Mulchay's | Fundraiser for Frederick's | $4,932.31 |
| 4/30/2026 | United States Postal Service | not stated | $46.80 |
| 4/27/2026 | French Workshop | Meeting with Candidates | $23.34 |
| 4/10/2026 | Mulchay's | Deposit for Fundraiser | $500.00 |
| 3/4/2026 | Amazon | Deposit Stamp | $18.96 |
| 3/4/2026 | Victoria Piscione | Amazon - Deposit Stamp | $18.96 |
| 2/26/2026 | Town of Hempstead Employees Federal CU | Checks | $36.85 |
| 2/21/2026 | The UPS Store #1002 | Overnight Application to Albany | $57.97 |
| 2/21/2026 | Victoria Piscione | UPS Store Reimbursement | $57.97 |